November 19, 2017

Finalists list out for 2017 Young Achievers Awards

Be at the head of the party
Gearing up for the event are Joe Kigozi, who chairs Reach A Hand Uganda; Vodafone’s Progress Chisenga; Humphrey Nabimanya, Ivan Kyambadde and Fiona Kayitesi, Youth Program Manager at Vodafone Uganda.  

August 3—President Yoweri Museveni is expected to grace the 2017 Young Achievers Awards on August 12 when the winners in seven categories are to be announced with Vodafone Uganda as one of the main partners in the event.

Earlier this week, the finalists were selected by two panels of judges. The first round involved a category judges who assessed the top 10 nominees in their respective categories and then later the audit judges who selected a winner out of each of the categories that also attracted nominations from the public.

Humphrey Nabimanya, the Team Leader and Founder of Reach A Hand Uganda said, “We are pleased to announce this year’s nominees who have been selected by distinguished judges who brought their industry knowledge and category specific skill sets to assess the nominees and choose the finalists for the Young Achievers Awards.”

Founded in 2009, the Awards were the brainchild of two young entrepreneurs, Awel Uwihanganye, and Ivan Kyambadde with the main objective of encouraging entrepreneurship and recognizing innovation and excellence.

“We congratulate all the nominees in the different categories. These young people are the next generation of leaders in their chosen fields of specialization and Vodafone is proud to be part of their story,” Progress Chisenga, Marketing Director Vodafone Uganda said. Vodafone JUMP is partnering with Reach A Hand to inspire and empower young peopleBesides Vodafone Uganda, other partners are Events Warehouse, NBS Television and Incredible Media.

List of nominees of the 2017 Young Achievers Awards

Nominees for the Young Achievers Award for Business are;

Dr. Richard Kalungi, Home Doctors Uganda

Maxima Nsimenta, Founder of Livara Shea Butter Cosmetics

Kasozi Charles Ras, SEED Uganda

Muhammed Sekatawa, Responsinle Suppliers (Uganda) Limited

Ricky Rapa Thompson, Co-Founder of SafeBoda


Nominees for the Young Achievers Award for Outstanding Sports Personality are;

Farouk Miya, Uganda Cranes midfielder

Jacob Kiplimo, Athlete

Marvin Odong, Rugby Cranes

Christine Wanyana, Former Uganda Crested Cranes Captain

Cheza Fitness Uganda


Nominees for the Young Achievers Award for Media and Journalism Excellence are;

Samuel Songa Stone,  STORYTELD

Ronald Wandera, Founder

Raymond Kataha, Journalist with NTV Uganda

AbaasMpindi, The Media Challenge Initiative

Martha Tukahirwa, The Uganda Tourism Directory


Nominees for the Young Achievers Award for Innovations & ICT are;

Gerald Otim, Chief Operation Officer & Co-Founder of Ensibuko

Michael Kazoora, Quick Tap Solutions

Zilla Mary Arach,  Lacel Technologies

Kevin Lubega, EasyTicket Limited

Peace Kuteesa, Zimba Women


Nominees for the Young Achievers Award for Social Entrepreneurship presented by UniTED are;

Muhammed Kisirisa aka Slum Ambassador, Executive Director of Action for Fundamental Change and Development

Eddy Balina, Community Empowerment Center

Jamila Mayanja, Annual Father Daughter Dance

Ian Joseph Wabwire, Youth Connect-Uganda

Ampumuza Dixon Kagurusi, Co-founder of Africa Media Education Literacy Limited and

Frank Neil Yiga, Anuel Energy Uganda


Nominees for the Young Achievers Award for Farming and Agro-Processing;

Ronald Katamba, Jaguza App

Zilla Mary Arach,  Lacel Technologies

James Kyewalabye, RASA Limited

Dennis Kasule, St James Secondary School Bulaga

Fiona Rukwanzi, Mwigo holdings Limited


Nominees for the Young Achievers Award for Creative Arts (Music) Category are;

Edrisa Musuuza aka Eddy Kenzo

Milege Afrojazz Band

George William Kigozi aka Geosteady

The Triplets Ghetto Kids

Sheebah Karungi


Nominees for the Young Achievers Award for Creative Arts (Fashion) are;

Brian Ahumuza of Abryanz Collection

Anita Beryl of Beryl Quoture


Nominees for the Young Achievers Award for Creative Arts (Film and Photography) are;

Haruna Ssebagala, Access Films

Ssekitto Emmanuel Kalule, Faces Up Uganda

Zahara Abdul

Ian Akankwasa aka Sasha Vybz

In reference to the 2017 Awards, the founders recognised the transition to a new generation of champions by congratulating Humphrey Nabimanya the Lead Champion (and a recipient of the 2011 Award), on his leadership and stewardship of the Awards going forward. “Our hope has always been that we keep young people as the face of the YAA, and for the Awards to remain youth driven, and youth focused.  We see this clearly in the work being invested in the project, and passion exhibited by the team of young people working on it. The team has our full support, we shall continue to contribute to the growth and success of the Award,” the founders said in joint statement.


Related posts